Offices Conveniently Located in Myrtle Beach & Conway
The Defense Never Rests.
Depending on what number of DUI offense you are charged with you face going to county jail or state prison, paying hefty fines, license suspension or revocation, SR-22 insurance requirements, ADSAP classes, and ignition interlock device. You also will have a permanent criminal record that can never be expunged. You will have a DUI on your driving record for ten (10) years. You may lose your job depending on what type of job you have.
Do NOT plead guilty without first getting a FREE DUI EVALUATION with Attorney Regina Ward. Attorney Ward understands how financially devastating a DUI can be on you and therefore, she also offers some payment plans so that having an attorney may be worked into your budget.Can I really get out of a DUI conviction?
Police Officers are trained to detect drunk drivers. However, police officers are also human and they make mistakes. If the officer made a mistake, the evidence cannot be used against you. If the prosecutor does not have the evidence to use against you, then your case will be dismissed. With the assistance of Myrtle Beach DUI Attorney Regina Ward it is possible to have your DUI arrest dismissed or reduced. Just because you blew a .08% or higher does NOT mean you will be found guilty. There are many areas of the arrest that can be challenged especially if the police did not precisely follow the law. However, the laws can be complicated and confusing so it is important that you at least have your DUI arrest evaluated. Attorney Regina Ward offers FREE DUI EVALUATIONS. She will review whether probable cause existed to stop your car. She will determine whether the rules for the roadside Field Sobriety Test were followed by the officer. She will investigate whether the breathalyzer machine was properly maintained. Call her today to find out if she can help you.How can I get my driver’s license back if they were suspended for DUI arrest?
If you refused to take the breathalyzer test then your license is automatically suspended for six (6) months. If you blew .15% or higher then your license is automatically suspended for 30 or more days. Myrtle Beach DUI Attorney Regina Ward can help you get back on the road very quickly by filing an administrative appeal of your suspension. As soon as the appeal is requested, Regina Ward can request an unrestricted driver’s license for you on a temporary basis. There is a deadline of 30 days from your date of arrest in which she can do this. Therefore, it is critically important that you meet with her as soon as possible. Click here for more information on how to get your license back.I did not take the breathalyzer, when can I get my license back?
If you refused to take the breathalyzer test then your license is automatically suspended for six (6) months for a first offense and up to fifteen (15) months for subsequent offenses. Myrtle Beach DUI Attorney Regina Ward can help you get back on the road very quickly by filing an administrative appeal of your suspension. As soon as the appeal is requested, Regina Ward can request an unrestricted driver’s license for you on a temporary basis. There is a deadline of 30 days from your date of arrest in which she can do this. Therefore, it is critically important that you meet with her as soon as possible.I am a licensed driver in another state but got a DUI in South Carolina. Is my license suspended?
The State of South Carolina only has the authority to suspend your right to drive within South Carolina. However, it is likely your licensing state is a member of the “Driver License Compact” and South Carolina will report a conviction to your licensing state.Will I get sentenced to jail or prison if I am convicted of a DUI?
You can be sentenced from 48-hours in county jail and up to 25 years in state prison depending on the levels of alcohol in your system, the number of offense, and whether you injured another person. Click here for information regarding the penalties for DUI convictions.What does BAC mean?
BAC is an acronym for “Blood Alcohol Content.” This is the measurement of how much alcohol is in a person’s blood stream. If you have .08% BAC or higher, then you can be arrested for driving under the influence. The measurement is taken by a blood sample or by analyzing the exhaled breath of a person with a breathalyzer machine.
Just because you registered at .08% or higher does not mean you will be found guilty of DUI. You may have defenses available to you. Call Attorney Regina Ward for a FREE DUI EVALUATION.What does “Implied Consent” mean?
This refers to the “Implied Consent Statutes” which is the law that states a “person who drives a motor vehicle in this State is considered to have given consent to chemical tests of his breath, blood, or urine for the purpose of determining the presence of alcohol or drugs…if arrested…while driving…under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or a combination of alcohol and drugs.” In other words, any person operating a vehicle is considered to have agreed to submit to testing of his breath, blood or urine if alleged to have committed a crime while under the influence. A person can refuse to take these tests but face immediate suspension of their license to drive for failing to comply. This is a civil penalty separate from any criminal charge. Click here for more information about getting your license back.What is ADSAP?
ADSAP is an acronym for the South Carolina Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program. It is a substance abuse program that works with people to address their problem areas which contributed to the person getting a DUI. The goal of the program is to reduce the risk of committing another DUI by education and/or treatment. The total costs range from $500 - $2,500. Enrollment and completion of ADSAP is a requirement to getting a provisional license if you do not contest the suspension or if you are convicted of DUI.What is SR-22 insurance?
SR-22 is the name of the form or document used to provide proof that you have purchased the minimum required coverage of automobile liability insurance. SR-22 (proof of insurance) is required for a minimum of three (3) years if you are convicted of a DUI. It is also required to get a provisional driver’s license. The form is submitted to the South Carolina Secretary of State’s Office as proof that you are insured. If you allow the policy to lapse or cancel it your carrier will notify the Secretary of State.How can I find out if my rights were violated?
You can call and make an appointment to see Myrtle Beach DUI Attorney Regina Ward for a FREE DUI EVALUATION to find out if your rights were violated. You will also find out if there is a viable defense to your DUI arrest and get all of your questions answered. You can also click here and submit your information online for an evaluation.
Remember just because you were arrested for a DUI, and even if you blew above the legal limit, does NOT mean you will be found guilty of a DUI.
Call Myrtle Beach Attorney Regina Ward today at 843-488-9273 for your FREE DUI EVALUATION.